top of page
  • Ciara McKnight

Investigating Icelandic Lava Tubes: A Day in the Life of a Geography Dissertation Project



I am Ciara, I just graduated with my BSc degree in Geography with French at QUB and I wanted to share my experience undertaking fieldwork as part of my final year geography dissertation project. My work involved investigating Icelandic lava tubes as analogues for Lunar and Martian lava tubes to assess habitability.

I was delighted with the opportunity to undertake a research trip to Iceland for my work in August 2022, with help from The QUB Sir Thomas Dixon Travel Scholarship. This allowed me to visit the perfect field site for my project and enriched my understanding of geology and volcanism in a truly dynamic landscape.

I undertook invaluable fieldwork including collecting sensor data and scanning ancient lava tubes, analysing how they could act as analogues for extra-terrestrial habitation. The scans I took of two lava tubes are viewable online via the website sketchfab.com under my name.

I was also keen to explore the role lava tubes and volcanic caves had in Icelandic culture and learn about Iceland’s Norse and Celtic history. I visited educational centres which gave me a chance to deepen my knowledge of the country and its formation. Tours and excursions to important geological and cultural sites proved a fascinating and enlightening experience. Especially hiking to the erupting Fagradalsfjall volcano and seeing first-hand the newly formed lava fields, which may very well host an abundance of new lava tubes.

Iceland is an incredibly beautiful and diverse place to explore, with its awe-inspiring geological features. I fully recommend anyone to visit, and I hope some inspiration can be taken from my experience. I wish all third-year students the best in their dissertation projects. Good luck.

50 views0 comments
graticule logo 3-3.png
bottom of page