top of page
  • Writer's pictureCourtney Mundt

The Locations, Origins and Influences behind Cillíní: An Overview of a PhD Dissertation Project

Updated: Sep 12, 2023


Courtney Mundt

My name is Courtney Mundt, and I am a PhD researcher in Archaeology and Paleoecology.


My dissertation involves analysing the locations, origins and influences behind cillíní (unconsecrated children’s burial grounds) in Counties Fermanagh, Meath and Antrim.


I am using GIS and government resources to analyse the Ordnance Survey (OS) maps and read through the OS, archival and folklore documents to confirm and find sites. I am researching the socio-economic-religious influences behind cillíní origins from the 1820’s onwards to better understand this archaeological monument type.


This research is important as, while these burial grounds were often reused archaeological sites starting in the 17th century, some were in use for burial up until the 1980’s. During my fieldwork in County Fermanagh in Summer 2021, I collected the oral history of several of these sites from people who only had second-hand knowledge of them. Those who had first-hand knowledge from either using them or knew of them being used in their lifetime have unfortunately passed away.


Given the intense emotions (ex. shame, sadness, guilt) around these sites, it is only recently that people are starting to feel comfortable discussing them. I feel that is my job to collect those stories and bring them to light so that the discussion can continue within communities and healing can begin.


The above image is of Knockmore megalithic tomb and cillín in County Fermanagh, which I surveyed during my Summer 2021 fieldwork with the help of my partner Paul. This was a site found thanks to oral history, as the Department for Communities documentation and OS resources do not state that this megalithic tomb was reused as a cillín.


To read more about Courtney and her research- click the links below.

44 views0 comments
graticule logo 3-3.png
bottom of page